TitleRecords of County of Banff School Boards
DescriptionRecords are held for the School Boards for the areas of Banffshire now in Aberdeenshire:
AS/BS/alv Alvah
AS/BS/blo Banff (Landward) and Ord
AS/BS/bnf Banff Burgh
AS/BS/frd Fordyce
AS/BS/frg Forglen
AS/BS/gam Gamrie
AS/BS/ink Inverkeithney
AS/BS/mar Marnoch

No records survive for or Boyndie or Ordiquhill School Boards.

Records for Banff County School Boards in the areas now in Moray (Aberlour, Boharm, Botriphnie, Cabrach, Cullen, Deskford, Enzie, Glenrinnes, Grange, Inveravon, Keith, Kirkmichael, Mortlach, Rathven, Rothiemay) are held by Moray Council.
Date1873 - 1919
Extent84 volumes
​Open or Restricted AccessOpen
Administrative HistoryThe Education (Scotland) Act 1872 (35 & 36 Vict., c.62) created school boards in Scotland with a statutory duty to provide education for all children between the ages of 5 and 13. The boards had an elected membership made up of owners and occupiers of property of the value of £4 or over. They were responsible for the building and maintenance of schools, staffing and attendance of pupils. They were overseen by the Scotch Board of Education. The Education (Scotland) Act 1901 (64 Vict. and 1 Edw. VII, c.9) raised the school leaving age to 14. Though education was compulsory, pupils were not obliged to attend public schools run by the School Board. School boards were abolished by the Education (Scotland) Act 1918 (8 & 9 Geo. V, c.48) and replaced by education authorities and school management committees (see ASBcty/5).
Add to My Items

    Major Collections

    Browse some of our major collections