Alt Ref NoKC/5
TitleKincardineshire County School Boards
DescriptionRecords are held for the following Kincardineshire School Boards:

AS/KS/arb Arbuthnott School Board
AS/KS/ban Banchory Devenick School Board
AS/KS/bdv Banchory Ternan School Board
AS/KS/ben Benholm School Board
AS/KS/ber Bervie School Board
AS/KS/dun Dunnottar School Board
AS/KS/dur Durris School Board
AS/KS/fec Fettercairn School Board
AS/KS/fes Fetteresso and Rickarton School Board
AS/KS/frd Fordoun School Board
AS/KS/gar Garvock School Board
AS/KS/gln Glenbervie School Board
AS/KS/knf Kinneff and Catterline School Board
AS/KS/lrk Laurencekirk School Board
AS/KS/myc Maryculter School Board
AS/KS/myk Marykirk School Board
AS/KS/nig Nigg School Board
AS/KS/scy St Cyrus School Board
AS/KS/str Strachan School Board
Date1872 - 1919
Extent328 volumes
​Open or Restricted AccessOpen
Administrative HistoryThe Education (Scotland) Act 1872 (35 & 36 Vict., c.62) created school boards in Scotland with a statutory duty to provide education for all children between the ages of 5 and 13. The boards had an elected membership made up of owners and occupiers of property of the value of £4 or over. They were responsible for the building and maintenance of schools, staffing and attendance of pupils. They were overseen by the Scotch Board of Education. The Education (Scotland) Act 1901 (64 Vict. and 1 Edw. VII, c.9) raised the school leaving age to 14. Though education was compulsory, pupils were not obliged to attend public schools run by the School Board. School boards were abolished by the Education (Scotland) Act 1918 (8 & 9 Geo. V, c.48) and replaced by education authorities and school management committees (see ASKcty/5).
Add to My Items